Burb Man

 

I am a dad, husband, son, mortgage holder, weed wacker, dishwasher loader, grill master, friend to my neighbors and no friend to any vermin or insect attacking my foundation. Occasionally, I get to watch the game but more often I am coaching where dribbling and passing are an art form. Instead of beers and Thursday-night fights, I am rushing through airports trying to catch a Thursday-night flight that will get me home before the kids go to bed. I am a petrified man in perpetual motion.

I am graying from head to toe while my gray matter takes in more but processes less than ever before. I am pot bellied though I no longer have munchies because I’ve ceased smoking pot. I am sandwiched between aging parents and teenagers who are aging me overnight. I am debt-laden from spending too much and guilt ridden from not spending enough time with everyone I love.

I am as dutiful, devoted and diligent as a loyal dog though I am often in the dog-house with family and friends. I can be as stubborn as a mule and after a few cocktail-fueled school fundraisers, a bit of a loudmouthed ass. I am a social animal constantly trying to keep the wolves of time and affliction at bay. I am a suburban sheep in middle-aged clothing.

I am most happy at home but most I’m often driving down some other town’s roads with the GPS in control. What I’m looking for I sometimes don’t even know.  I have a room full of tools and a contacts list filled with contractors, painters and plumbers. Instead of concert crowd surfing or surfing the U.S.A., I am more often feverishly surfing Web MD. What ailment or cure I’m looking for I’m not even sure.. I am proud of what I have accomplished so far in my life… and disappointed about the opportunities, places and friends I’ve missed along the way.

I am the American dream, college-educated, happily married, homeowner and breadwinner. I am what I hoped to be, surrounded by the sweet suburban sounds of backyard laughter and early-morning lawnmowers. I banter. I contribute. I make it possible for my children to set up lemonade stands even when life has tossed lemons my way. I may moan and groan but I am a grown-up ready and willing to grow into old age gracefully. This brings me comfort even when life is uncomfortable.

I am the suburban man, elliptical obsessed… though sometimes short circuited by the daily grind of overpriced ground coffee. And I have a voice – ironic, sardonic, quixotic. And I am ready. Ready to share my views from the peeling cedar deck of my life. Sometimes funny. Sometime reflective. But always something we – this mortgage paying, belt tightening, child rearing, wine guzzling, vacation planning, corporate serving, someday retiring generation – can relate to.

So join me for genial pot shots and rib-tickling anecdotes from the picket-fenced, green, green grass of home. It may just help you feel more at home than you’ve ever felt before.

12 thoughts on “Knee Deep in Suburbia

  1. Bobbi says:

    Congrats. Can’t wait to read what you have to say. Enjoy and good luck

    1. bprcomm0612 says:

      Thanks. Next story comes out wednesday.

  2. monique970 says:

    LOVE THIS BLOG! CONGRATS, BRIAN!

    1. bprcomm0612 says:

      Thanks. Please share and help me promote. You are a marketing guru!

  3. Bonnie Agar says:

    Enjoyed reading the blog. Keep them coming.

    1. bprcomm0612 says:

      Thanks! Please share with others.

  4. Lori Trezza says:

    Congrats on the launch! When you are rich and famous I will be able to say I knew you when….

    1. bprcomm0612 says:

      Thank you. Just want to air my thoughts. Money is not the aim but one never knows, do one?

      1. Bradley Kule says:

        Wait, you are not rich and famous already?

      2. bprcomm0612 says:

        Just famous with my friends. And cholesterol rich!

  5. ann Wachtel says:

    Looking forward to reading more….Yahoo!

    1. bprcomm0612 says:

      Thanks. Please read and share especially my new post.

Leave a Reply

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

06880

Where Westport meets the world

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Lost in Suburbia

based on the syndicated humor column by Tracy Beckerman

Snarky in the Suburbs

Middle aged, Uncool and Not Bringing Sexy Back

